Register

New Version available

A discussion area for other carts not listed above

Moderator: Staff

Elite Member
User avatar
Posts: 4341
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 am
Location: Existential quandary

Postby Baa » Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:04 am

scotserve wrote:The other thing you need to consider is PHP is a compiled resource so one servers PHP 5.3 may well be different from another's - I do recall seeing something about "magic_quotes" as well - Zen just need to be upfront and confirm what versions will work ( this is on the site) and what issues are expected with different versions along with what needs to be compiled into PHP


Way out of my knowledge zone now :D but I see what you're saying as regards to Zen Cart developers and their responsibilities.
Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk. (Seneca)

Elite Member
User avatar
Posts: 4341
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 am
Location: Existential quandary

Postby Baa » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:06 pm

It's now on 1.3.9d

D!!!! How many more to come?
Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk. (Seneca)

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Fri Jun 04, 2010 3:05 pm

It's now on 1.3.9d


I don't usually say this but "I give up" :evil: **










** well, at least until they come up with a stable update.

King Member
User avatar
Posts: 2596
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Scottish Highlands

Postby scotserve » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:15 pm

eemarket wrote:
It's now on 1.3.9d


I don't usually say this but "I give up" :evil: **










** well, at least until they come up with a stable update.


Actually from a providers point of view it is much more helpful to have version updates rather than patches and updates being done with no version changes and having to scroll through forums to find what works where.

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Sun Jun 20, 2010 12:00 am

I see we are up to 1.3.9d

Anyone upgraded to it yet?

King Member
User avatar
Posts: 2741
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: North Wales

Postby Wayzgoose » Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:18 am

Not me !!! I'll let a few more letters of the alphabet appear first.

Alan.

Elite Member
User avatar
Posts: 4341
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 am
Location: Existential quandary

Postby Baa » Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:24 pm

eemarket wrote:I see we are up to 1.3.9d

Anyone upgraded to it yet?


Look a few posts up ;)

And yes I have :D
Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk. (Seneca)

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:15 pm

I know about the posts further up :p

I was wondering if anyone has actually upgraded a site from 1.3.8 to 1.3.9d yet.
(not a new install) and what were the problems?.

I know I said I give up, but I meant that as a :p , remark, I don't have the time to change all of my present Zen shops to another cart but if this is the future of Zen then I will need to reconsider and plan ahead.

The Zen site I need to upgrade is one selling jewellery from a dropshipper in the New Forest area. ;)

I showed Wayzgoose my new Joomla site (mentioned further up) and he seemed impressed.
Last edited by eemarket on Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Elite Member
User avatar
Posts: 4341
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 am
Location: Existential quandary

Postby Baa » Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:45 am

eemarket wrote:
I was wondering if anyone has actually upgraded a site from 1.3.8 to 1.3.9d yet.
(not a new install) and what were the problems?.


Yes and none what so ever this time. I'll show you mine in PM :D
Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk. (Seneca)

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:57 pm

An excellent job too :ccol:

I've shown you mine in a PM too. :D

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:48 am

OK, I bit the bullet and upgraded a live Zen 1.3.8a site to 1.3.9d.
Time consuming it is but it's not difficult if you are used to FTP.
All went well, changed the files on the list, opened the admin and got the error message

Your database appears to need patching to a higher level

Now not being a database expert I looked on the Zen forum and eventually found that I needed to run an SQL patch that was in the install folder in the upgrade file set.
Ran the SQL patch and all seems OK now.
My PHP version is 5.2.12

I still think that the average user will struggle to upgrade easily.

Junior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby shazam » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:32 am

1.3.9e now.. will it ever end?

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:44 am

I upgraded a recently installed site from 1.3.9d to 1.3.9e and created a new install with 1.3.9e yesterday, so far so good.

Looking into the upgrades I can see just how much they've concentrated on site security, now they just need to develop one-click user friendly installs.

I think they were shaken last year at the amount of hacked sites that they had complaints about.
Last edited by eemarket on Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

-# Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:51 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby laggardlady » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:52 am

I installed 1.3.9e yesterday. I see Nochex is still missing. I don't undertand why they got rid of it.

I haven't had the nerve to upgrade all my other sites yet :cry:

Just Starting Out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:53 am
Location: UK

Postby livvylou » Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:02 pm

i have made a conscious choice not to upgrade until i have to, i have a heavily customised site with lots of modules from the zen cart site, which are as they were or modified further by me and a couple of smaller edits which im not sure will transfer to a newer version, im happy to upgrade but what with all the bug fixes going on at the moment and the fact that my extra modules havent been updated yet to fit the new version, im sitting pretty until the whole thing becomes alot more stable and until i can take my modules with me too!

King Member
User avatar
Posts: 2741
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: North Wales

Postby Wayzgoose » Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:56 pm

Here we go again - it's now v1.3.9f !!!

Alan.

-# Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:51 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby laggardlady » Sat Sep 04, 2010 11:48 pm

I upgraded a 1.3.8 cart to v1.3.9f using Installatron and it did it no problem.

I'd had some problem with the site, not a live site, text on the boxes weren't showing correctly. eg Categories had something like INFO_BOXES_HEADING_CATEGORIES. I was about to delete the zen cart and reinstall when I thought I might as well have a shot of upgrading with installatron. Had no problem logging into admin afterwards either although it changed the name of the admin.

The good thing about it is that the Nochex module is still there.

Nothing time consuming about it doing it with installatron and not manually like eemarket did.

Going to pluck up the courage to try it on a live site soon.

No Life
Posts: 1905
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:49 pm
Location: Gloucester

Postby Bhuna » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:09 am

LL,

Does the Easypopulate (assuming you use it) page display properly - ie the lists at the bottom of the page of old files you have uploaded and can then single click to reupload?

I'm currently building a site and having probs with 1.3.9f this on EasyPopulate displaying lots of code as text.

Thanks,

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:21 am

I've got a site running 1.3.9f with Easy Populate 1.2.5.4.
I have no problem with it, text is as it should be on EP page.

EP 1.2.5.7 csv is having problems.

http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showthread.php?p=924572

-# Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:51 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby laggardlady » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:03 am

Bhuna, just had a go with EP. Clicked on the import of an old file and it updated.

It's EP 1.2.5.7 I'm running.

<edit to add> I said earlier it had changed the name of the admin but noticed in my ftp that although there is now a folder named zcadmin there's only an index file there, everything is still in admin.

When I log in using zcadmin it automatically changes back to admin before the login page comes up so that's why I had no problem with logging in
Last edited by laggardlady on Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

No Life
Posts: 1905
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:49 pm
Location: Gloucester

Postby Bhuna » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:31 am

Thank you both.

Andy.


PS: LL - do you keep your admin folder as 'admin' - as it is recommended that you change it for extra security.

-# Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:51 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby laggardlady » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:41 am

I think I changed it on one site :lol: I was looking up the thread with instructions about security from ee last night and really need to get them done. It's such a chore though :lol:

I'll let you know when I update any other sites with installatron if there are any problems.

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:58 am

Quick guide to change admin name..

Open your admin/includes/configure.php, using a text editor.
Change all instances of /admin/ to your chosen new admin folder-name.

Changes in this section:

define('DIR_WS_ADMIN', '/admin/');
define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_ADMIN', '/admin/');
define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');

And in this section:

define('DIR_FS_ADMIN', '/home/mystore.com/www/public/admin/');

Find your Zen Cart /admin/ directory, using your FTP software or your webhost File Manager.
Rename the directory to match the settings you just made in your admin/includes/configure.php.

To login to your admin system you will now have to visit a new URL that matches the new name used above.
For example instead of visiting http://www.example.com/admin/ visit http://www.example.com/New_Admin_Name/.

Simples

-# Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:51 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby laggardlady » Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:06 am

Thanks ee, that doesn't look bad, I was checking out this thread re the security last night which sort of put me off lol

http://dropshipforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=15267

I Live Here
Posts: 7323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby eemarket » Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:30 am

I think you'll find the majority of it is already done in 1.3.9, but not the Admin renaming.

PreviousNext

Return to Other Carts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests